Niklas Kammermeier, M.A.

Universitätsstr. 105
44780 Bochum
Room: UNI 105, 3/25

Phone: +49 (0) 234/32-2729
E-Mail: niklas.kammermeier@rub.de



Title of the Dissertation

Between podium and pillory. Perpetrators in documentary films.


Project Description

„This is not material for a movie! He is playing the repentant sinner, and you’re in the role of the supposed observer. He’s purging himself through you. And you will cash-in on another profound film. Stop flirting with evil, you and he are not in the same boat.“ (From the film Z32)

This research project aims to examine the aesthetics and the discursive quality of perpetrator appearances in documentary films. I will analyse moments and scenes in which individuals who committed an illegal or reprehensible act step in front of a camera and function as a responsible representative, indexical authority or witness of their own deed. I will focus on U.S. film productions and productions from German-speaking countries since about 1990.

The paper deals with three core theses:

(1) The relationship of perpetrator appearances in film to reality can be regarded as a process of negotiation between the perpetrator’s and the filmmaker’s representational intentions. In this context, the perpetrator often has the creative freedom to describe actions, to engage in self-disclosure, apologetic manoeuvres, and theatrical and performative self-dramatization. The filmmakers, however, dispose of the entire bandwidth of pro-filmic and film aesthetic tools. The (often conflicting) claims to reality and interpretation are essential elements of these stagings.

(2) Perpetrator appearances generate their claims to representing reality in a certain tension between documentary excess and withholding. In this connection, strategies of media technological certification and established methods of investigation, such as lawsuits or interrogation, encounter moments of unknowingness, de-realisation, and fictionalisation. The conflict of indexical referentiality and its disconcertion via poses, re-enactments and the aesthetics of fiction film is of particular interest here.

(3) Perpetrator appearances are precarious in terms of knowledge transfer and the culture of memory. It is assumed that perpetrators “do not want to be publicly acknowledged, but are eager to remain invisible” (Aleida Assmann). This is why the appearances of perpetrators are not only considered as a cinematic feat, but are also critically questioned in terms of motivations, intentions, and personal advantages – in short, the “terms of the contract” between perpetrator and filmmaker. In this connection, manipulation, minimising guilt, monumentalisation, glorification, and even historical revisionism and forgetting are constant threats. Hence, contextually and culturally different “rules of appearance” regulate not only who is allowed to appear, but also how these appearances are to be framed. These rules comprise the relations between identification and dissociation, self-disclosure and contextualisation, improvisation and framing, unveiling and disguise, aesthetic design and formal reduction. They are rarely drafted in an explicit manner, but they appear all the more evident in moments when they are intentionally or unintentionally violated.

These hypotheses will be assessed by way of an examination of  particular periods in the history of documentary film. These include the striking proliferation of perpetrator appearances in U.S. documentaries in the 1990s, the controversies surrounding perpetrator appearances in German documentary films at the beginning of the 1990s, and the most recent presentations of perpetrators in NS documentaries and NETFLIX productions. The aim is to identify certain aesthetic and discursive patterns and to sharpen our understanding of perpetrators as documentary authorities and figures of memory within documentary film.

 


Scholarly Career

  • Since 05/2017: Doctoral Student Member of the DFG Graduate Research Group on “Documentary Practices. Excess and Privation”, Ruhr-University Bochum
  • 10/2013 to 12/2016: Master studies in “Inszenierung der Künste und der Medien”, University of Hildesheim
  • 10/2009 to 12/2013: Bachelor studies in “Szenische Künste”, University of Hildesheim

University Courses

  • Summer term 2015: Tutorial in the Editing Laboratory of the Department of Media and Popular Culture, University of Hildesheim
  • Summer term 2015: Seminar “Reenactment im Dokumentarfilm”, Institute of Media and Popular Culture, University of Hildesheim
  • Summer term 2014: Academic-art project “(Selbst-)verschwendung dokumentieren”, as part of the project term 2014 at the Institute of Media and Popular Culture, University of Hildesheim

Niklas Kammermeier, M.A.

Universitätsstr. 105
44780 Bochum
Raum: UNI 105, 3/25

Telefon: +49 (0) 234/32-27296
E-Mail: niklas.kammermeier@rub.de

 

 


Titel der Dissertation

Zwischen Podium und Pranger. Täterauftritte im Dokumentarfilm


Projektbeschreibung

„This is not material for a movie! He is playing the repentant sinner, and you’re in the role of the supposed observer. He’s purging himself through you. And you will cash-in on another profound film. Stop flirting with evil, you and he are not in the same boat.“ (Aus dem Film Z32)

Das Dissertationsprojekt will die Ästhetik und Diskursivierung von Täterauftritten im Dokumentarfilm untersuchen. Unter Täterauftritten sollen Momente und Szenen verstanden werden, in welchen Menschen, die eine strafrechtlich relevante oder moralisch verwerfliche Handlung begangen haben als verantwortliche RepräsentantInnen, indexikalische Instanzen oder ZeugInnen ihrer eigenen Taten vor eine Kamera treten. Im Fokus stehen US-amerikanische Produktionen sowie Produktionen aus dem deutschsprachigen Raum seit etwa 1990.

Im Zentrum der Arbeit stehen drei Thesen:

(1) Der Wirklichkeitsbezug des Täterauftritts kann als Aushandlungsprozess zwischen (Selbst-)Darstellungsabsichten der Täterfigur und Darstellungsabsichten der FilmemacherInnen beschrieben werden. Dem/der TäterIn ist dabei häufig Gestaltungsfreiheit bei Tatbeschreibungen, Selbstauskünften, apologetischen Manövern sowie theatralen und performativen (Selbst-)Inszenierungen gegeben. Die FilmemacherInnen dagegen verfügen über die gesamte Bandbreite profilmischer und filmästhetischer Mittel. Zentral ist hier der Wirklichkeits- und (teils konfligierende) Deutungsanspruch dieser Selbst-, und Fremdinszenierungen.

(2) Täterauftritte generieren ihre Wirklichkeitsbehauptungen und -entwürfe im Spannungsfeld von dokumentarischem Exzess und Entzug. Dabei werden Verfahren medientechnischer Beglaubigungen und etablierte Praktiken der Wahrheitsfindung wie das Gerichtsverfahren oder das Verhör mit Momenten des Nicht-Wissens, der Derealisierung und der Fiktionalisierung verknüpft. Besonders dem Konflikt zwischen indexikalischer Referenzialität und deren Verunsicherung durch Posen, Reenactments und Ästhetiken des Spielfilms gilt besonderes Interesse.

(3) Täterauftritte besitzen einen besonders prekären Status als wissens- und erinnerungskulturelle Praxis: Gerade weil angenommen wird, dass Täter „nicht um öffentliche Anerkennung, sondern um Unsichtbarkeit bemüht sind“ (Aleida Assmann), werden Täterauftritte nicht nur als filmische ‚Großtaten’ der entsprechenden FilmemacherInnen rezipiert, sondern auch kritisch im Hinblick auf Motivationen, Absichten und Vorteilsnahmen, kurz: den ‚Vertragsbedingungen’ zwischen TäterIn und FilmemacherIn befragt. Stets drohen dabei Manipulation, falsche Empathie, Verunklarung von Schuld, Monumentalisierung, Heroisierung bis hin zu Geschichtsrevision und Vergessen. Deswegen regulieren kontextuell und kulturell unterschiedliche ‚Auftrittsregeln’ nicht nur, wer auftreten darf, sondern auch, auf welche Weise dieser Auftritt zu erfolgen hat. Geregelt ist das Verhältnis von Identifikation und Distanzierung, Selbstauskunft und Kontextualisierung, Improvisation und Rahmung, Offenlegung und Maskierung, ästhetischer Gestaltung und formaler Reduktion. Diese Regeln werden selten explizit formuliert, treten aber umso deutlicher in jenen Momenten hervor, in denen sie mehr oder weniger absichtsvoll gebrochen werden.

Die vorgestellten Thesen sollen anhand bestimmter Schauplätze der US-amerikanischen und deutschsprachigen Dokumentarfilmgeschichte überprüft und diskutiert werden. Dazu zählen die auffällige Häufung von Täterfiguren im US-amerikanischen Dokumentarfilm der 1990er Jahre und die zur selben Zeit stattfindende kontroverse Rezeption von Täterauftritten in Deutschland genauso wie jüngere TäterInneninszenierungen in deutschen NS-Dokumentationen und US-amerikanischen NETFLIX-Produktionen. Ziel der Arbeit ist es, in enger Verzahnung von Film-, und Diskursanalyse ästhetische und diskursive Muster zu identifizieren und so den Blick auf TäterInnen als dokumentarische Autoritäten und Erinnerungsfiguren innerhalb des Dokumentarfilms zu schärfen.

 


Wissenschaftlicher Werdegang

  • Seit März 2017: Wissenschaftlicher Mitarbeiter (Promotion) am DFG-Graduiertenkolleg „Das Dokumentarische. Exzess und Entzug“, Ruhr-Universität Bochum
  • Oktober/2013 bis Dezember/2016: Masterstudium „Inszenierung der Künste und der Medien“, Universität Hildesheim
  • Oktober/2009 bis Dezember/2013: Bachelorstudium „Szenische Künste“, Universität Hildesheim

Lehrveranstaltungen

  • Sommersemester 2015: Tutorium im Schnittlabor des Instituts für Medien und Populäre Kultur, Universität Hildesheim
  • Sommersemester 2015: Seminar „Reenactment im Dokumentarfilm“, Institut für Medien und Populäre Kultur, Universität Hildesheim
  • Sommersemester 2014: Wissenschaftlich-künstlerisches Projekt „(Selbst-)verschwendung dokumentieren“, im Rahmen des Projektsemesters 2014 am Institut für Medien und Populäre Kultur, Universität Hildesheim