About the Research Group

The graduate research training group on “Documentary Practices: Excess and Privation” at the Ruhr University of Bochum examines the theory and history of documentary forms from the emergence of analog technology media in the 19th century to the digital media practices of the present. The focus is on the question of what operations invest documentary forms with their specific authority and by way of what procedures is it possible to challenge their claim to representing reality. From a praxeological perspective, what is brought into view are, above all, the concrete actions that assemble the respective visual, textual, and audio media elements and materials into a particular documentary form, in order to orient the readability, the expressive value and the power effect of that which is documented.

Outstanding doctoral students investigate how literature, photography, film, and digital media succeed in rising to the status of documentary media of reference and, at the same time, how this documentary claim to grasping reality gets undermined and called into question. Two concepts are opposed in these efforts: Documentary practices 2.0, in the form of the social media practices by way of which people comprehensively document their everyday life, and 2nd order documentation, which could also be called reflexive documentation. Documentary excess encounters forms and modes of documentary withholding, which reveal the inevitable selectivity of all documentation: its blind spots, but also its experimental forms and its artistic forms of alienation. Investigation of this relation of tension takes place in four work areas: “The Formal History and Theorisation of Documentary Practices”, “Media Poetics of Documentary Practice”, “Self-Documentation and Cultures of Affect”, and “Techno-Politics of Documentary Practice”.

The research group began its work on 1 October 2016. Twelve places for doctoral students were filled, as well as one post-doctoral position. Other doctoral students can, moreover, become associated with the group, provided they have financing from other sources. Particularly qualified masters students can also be included in the group. The international partners of the research group include New York University, Princeton University and Northwestern University, Chicago.

Über das Kolleg

Das an der Fakultät für Philologie der Ruhr-Universität Bochum angesiedelte Graduiertenkolleg „Das Dokumentarische. Exzess und Entzug“ untersucht die Theorie und Geschichte dokumentarischer Formen von der Entstehung technischer Analogmedien im 19. Jahrhundert bis in die Gegenwart digitaler Medienpraktiken. Im Zentrum steht dabei die Frage, welche Operationen es sind, die die spezifische Autorität des Dokumentarischen verbürgen und mit welchen Verfahren es gelingt, den Wirklichkeitsanspruch dokumentarischer Formen zu bestreiten. Aus einer praxeologischen Perspektive geraten dabei vor allem die konkreten Handlungen in den Blick, die die jeweiligen bild-, text- und tonmedialen Elemente und Materialien zu einer bestimmten dokumentarischen Form zusammenführen, um so die Lesbarkeit, den Aussagewert und die Machtwirkungen des Dokumentierten zu steuern.

Exzellente Promovierende erforschen, wie es Literatur, Fotografie, Film und digitalen Medien jeweils gelingt, zu dokumentarischen Leitmedien aufzusteigen und wie dieser dokumentarische Anspruch auf Wirklichkeitserfassung zugleich auch unterlaufen und in Frage gestellt wird. Zwei Konzepte stehen sich dabei gegenüber: Das Dokumentarische 2.0 in den Social Media-Praktiken, mit denen Menschen ihren Alltag umfassend dokumentieren, und das Dokumentarische zweiter Ordnung, das man auch ein reflexives Dokumentieren nennen könnte. Der dokumentarische Exzess trifft auf Formen und Modi des dokumentarischen Entzugs, die die unvermeidliche Selektivität allen Dokumentierens exponieren, seine blinden Flecken, aber auch seine experimentellen Formen und künstlerischen Verfremdungen. Die Erforschung dieses Spannungsverhältnisses geschieht in den vier Arbeitsbereichen „Formengeschichte und Theoriebildung des Dokumentarischen“, „Medien-Poetiken des Dokumentarischen“, „Selbstdokumentation und Affektkulturen“ sowie „Techno-Politiken des Dokumentarischen“.

Das Kol­leg nimmt sei­ne Ar­beit am 1. Oktober 2016 auf. Ausgeschrieben wer­den 12 Dok­to­ran­den­stel­len so­wie 1 Post­doc-Stel­le. Außer­dem können weitere Dok­to­ran­d_in­nen mit an­der­wei­ti­ger Fi­nan­zie­rung as­so­zi­iert wer­den. Integriert werden zudem auch besonders qualifizierte Masterstudierende. Zu den internationalen Kooperationspartnern des Graduiertenkollegs gehören die New York University, die Princeton University sowie die Northwestern University, Chicago.