Robert Dörre, M.A.

doerre_robert
Universitätsstr. 105
44780 Bochum
Room: UNI 105, 3/38

Phone: +49 (0) 234/32-27104
E-Mail: robert.doerre@rub.de




Title of the Dissertation

Broadcast Yourself! Audiovisual Self-Documentation as a Phenomenon and Practice of Digital Culture (Working title)


Project Description

This dissertation focuses on contemporary forms of audiovisual self-documentation. More than ever before, the production and reception of documentary videos have today become a common social practice. As a result, video formats of all kinds have developed on video hosting platforms such as YouTube. People document their everyday lives, record their sexual coming out, test various products, voice their opinions, tell stories, present their underwear, etc.  The main aim of this dissertation is to develop a systematic grounded theory of this phenomenon and related media-dispositifs through an inductive content analysis approach.

Besides the analysis of current German-language video blogs and live streams, I plan to take a closer look at the phenomenon of self-documentation from varied perspectives. A comparison to other forms of self-documentation like the diary, the literary autobiography or the self-portrait are obvious choices. Historically, the work of video artists in the 1960s and 70s are also an important influence. The dissertation examines the thesis of Walter Benjamin, who argues that art can act as a space of anticipation for future cultural practices. Remarkably, these video artworks not only anticipated today’s cultural practices, they themselves became subject to critique, which bears similarity with current critical discourse regarding digital culture.

A further area of analysis is the discourse that develops around modern forms of self-documentation and gives rise to social structures and normative orders that are in turn manifested and renegotiated. In the spirit of Foucault, the dissertation reflects those discursive structures and tries to examine the documentary elements of digital culture as a social practice and a phenomenon of new media.


Scholarly Career

  • Since 10/2016: Doctoral Student Member of the DFG Graduate Research Group on “Documentary Practices. Excess and Privation”, Ruhr-University Bochum
  • 10/2013 to 06/2016: Master studies in Media studies, University of Cologne
  • 10/2010 to 08/2013: Bachelor studies in Film studies and Sociology, Johannes Gutenberg University Mainz

Publications

  • Dörre, Robert (2016) Ohne Drehbuch. Zur Theorie und Ästhetik der Improvisation im Spielfilm am Beispiel des German Mumblecore. Masterarbeit, Universität zu Köln. Online available at: http://kups.ub.uni-koeln.de/7034/

Talks

  • Dörre, Robert (2017) Broadcast Your Body – Video Blogs and The Discourse of Body Positivity. Presented at the Université Sorbonne Nouvelle (Paris III) as part of the NECS Conference 2017.

Memberships


Miscellaneous

Robert Dörre, M.A.

doerre_robert
Universitätsstr. 105
44780 Bochum
Raum: UNI 105, 3/38

Telefon: +49 (0) 234/32-27104
E-Mail: robert.doerre@rub.de




Titel der Dissertation

Broadcast Yourself! Audiovisuelle Selbstdokumentation als Phänomen der Digitalkultur (Arbeitstitel)


Projektbeschreibung

Das Dissertationsvorhaben konzentriert sich auf die Untersuchung aktueller Formen audiovisueller Selbstdokumentation, denn das Dokumentieren und die Rezeption dokumentarischer Videos ist heute mehr denn je weitverbreitete soziale Praxis geworden, die ebenso viele Anhänger wie (medienkulturkritische) Gegner findet. Auf Plattformen wie YouTube haben sich mittlerweile verschiedenste Videoformate ausdifferenziert. Menschen dokumentieren darin z.B. ihren Alltag, haben ihr öffentliches Coming Out, testen Produkte, äußern ihre Meinung zu aktuellen gesellschaftlichen Themen, erzählen Geschichten aus ihrem Leben, präsentieren Unterwäsche u. v. m. Das Hauptanliegen der Dissertation ist es mithilfe induktiver Analyseverfahren eine gegenstandsbegründete Theorie dieses Phänomens und der zugehörigen medialen Dispositive zu generieren.

Neben der Analyse von aktuellen deutschsprachigen Video-Blogs und Live-Streams, soll sich dem Phänomen der Selbstdokumentation aus unterschiedlichen Perspektiven genähert werden. Gerade der Vergleich mit anderen Medien der Selbstdokumentation, wie dem Tagebuch, der literarischen Autobiographie oder dem Selbstportrait, scheint sich dabei aufzudrängen. Nicht zuletzt rücken bei der historischen Spurensuche die Arbeiten von VideokünstlerInnen der 1960er und 1970er Jahre in den Fokus. Dahingehend möchte das Projekt auch die benjaminsche These von der Kunst als Antizipationsraum (medien-) kultureller Praktiken wieder ernst nehmen. Bemerkenswerterweise prä­fi­gu­rie­ren nicht nur die Videoarbeiten selbst ein kontemporäres Phänomen der Digitalkultur; an ihnen entzündete sich bereits ein kulturkritischer Diskurs, der schon die zentralen Topoi der Kritik vorausweist.

Darüber hinaus manifestieren sich in all diesen Formen der Selbstdokumentation nicht nur kulturelle und soziale Ordnungsstrukturen, sie werden zudem ganz maßgeblich auch verhandelt. Im Sinne Foucaults widmet sich die Arbeit solchen diskursiven Strukturen, Verschiebungen und Ausschlusspraktiken und versucht die dokumentarischen Gesten der Digitalkultur als soziale Praxis und Phänomen der Neuen Medien zu erschließen.


Wissenschaftlicher Werdegang

  • Seit Oktober 2016: Wissenschaftlicher Mitarbeiter (Promotion) am DFG-Graduiertenkolleg „Das Dokumentarische. Exzess und Entzug“, Ruhr-Universität Bochum
  • 10/2013 bis 06/2016: Masterstudium „Medienwissenschaft“, Universität zu Köln
  • 10/2010 bis 08/2013: Bachelorstudium „Filmwissenschaft und Soziologie“, Johannes Gutenberg-Universität Mainz

Publikationen

  • Dörre, Robert (2016) Ohne Drehbuch. Zur Theorie und Ästhetik der Improvisation im Spielfilm am Beispiel des German Mumblecore. Masterarbeit, Universität zu Köln. Online Verfügbar unter: http://kups.ub.uni-koeln.de/7034/

Vorträge

  • Dörre, Robert (2017) Broadcast Your Body – Video Blogs and The Discourse of Body Positivity. Vortrag an der Université Sorbonne Nouvelle (Paris III) im Rahmen der NECS Conference 2017.
  • Dörre, Robert (2017) In Alarmbereitschaft. Zur Rezeption selbstdokumentarischer Videos am Beispiel des Storytimes. Vortrag an der FAU Erlangen-Nürnberg im Rahmen der Jahrestagung der GfM .

Mitgliedschaften


Weitere Tätigkeiten